When a project is still in the pending state, both the client and the freelancer are able to cancel it. However, once the project is in progress only the freelancer is able to cancel the project.
To cancel an in progress project:
1. Navigate to the project in your inbox and click on the three dots on the right hand side to select "Cancel Project."
2. When you click "Cancel Project" you will have the opportunity to provide more details and next steps.
3. After clicking "Cancel Project" at the bottom of the box you will then have an opportunity to write a review.
If they do have to cancel the project, the freelancer can process a refund via their Stripe dashboard if appropriate.
For more information on how refunds work, please visit: FAQ: How do I process a refund?